Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Any damage appraisers out there?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 20, 2014, 07:15 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Any damage appraisers out there?

It's been like 10 years since I worked in insurance so I forget. Does the estimate to fix have to be 75% ACV of the car before they would total it?

I know it may change a little from state to state or insurance company to insurance company. I'm in Cali.

Thanks
Old Apr 20, 2014, 10:18 PM

I'm not an appraiser, but a Claims Rep(In the office), but for cali, I believe the law states " If the vehicle is not economical to repair, the insurer must total the vehicle . So if the the estimated damages to repair the vehicle + Pro quote(What the salvage vender pays for the vehicle)exceeds the actual cash value of the vehicle, the insure will total. If you're curious about the actual cash value, use NADA, not KBB. Your insurance company may use a company call autosource to determine the value of the vehicle. Autosource pulls data from NADA, Craigslist and dealer prices within your vicinity
Old Apr 20, 2014, 11:51 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Uscbryan
It's been like 10 years since I worked in insurance so I forget. Does the estimate to fix have to be 75% ACV of the car before they would total it?

I know it may change a little from state to state or insurance company to insurance company. I'm in Cali.

Thanks
Holy **** what happened? It's something like 75% iirc (it's Suren from the other site)
Old Apr 21, 2014, 05:36 PM
Evolved Member

Just a little mishap in the canyons where a tree jumped out in front of me to stop me from going over the cliff.

Body shop said it won't be a total. I didn't think so, was just getting scared. I don't want it to be. She will be better than new in a week or two. Might even have the fq400 hood she has been wanting.