Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Corvette Enthusiast Possible New Evo Owner

Old Jan 4, 2012, 12:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Corvette Enthusiast Possible New Evo Owner

Hello, my name is Danny. I'm a designer-publisher, car enthusiast, and surfer.

I'm currently considering a new Evo X GSR. I have been doing the research online and on this site so most of my questions have been answered. I do have a number of questions to ask, but in the spirit of community, the idea is that these questions might also help other future Evo owners. The questions are accompanied by details. So, here we go...

1. I live in California. Here, when going up to the mountains to snowboard, the police sets up road blocks and require cars to install snow chains. However, they set up signs that read "4WD with snow tires Ok." Meaning, they'll let trucks through no problem. I wonder if the cops here would require an Evo to install chains. Of course, I could try and convince the officer otherwise with fancy talk about AWD and traction control and how the car has been designed to do just this. But, my guess is, unless I install snow tires for the occasion, the cops won't let me through.

- Any California Evo owners here have to deal with this?
- If I do install winter tires for the trip I'd do it in my garage right before leaving. How will the snow tires fare during the 300 miles of asphalt that is not snow covered? The snow tires will only be needed for the mountain section of the trips, but of course I need to drive them to the mountains first. I've never driven snow tires. Will they disintegrate during the 300 miles of dry asphalt before hitting the snow?