Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Will gasoline break down teflon tape?

Search this Thread

Old May 4, 2004, 12:37 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Will gasoline break down teflon tape?

I'm going to be threading in my fuel pressure sender today, and wanted to add something to the connection to seal it up properly. The guy at Advanced said Teflon tape would be fine, and wouldn't break down b/c of the gasoline exposure.

Anyone know for sure? Last thing I want is some teflon pieces clogging up my injectors
Old May 4, 2004, 12:39 PM
Evolving Member

yes. gasonline will break down the tape, it wont break down the teflon itself, but will break down the bond holding the teflon together. trust me on this, im a plastics engineer and deal with these kinds of situations all the time. your best bet is to go get some silicone sealer.

however, if it is on the threads, it should not get gas on it, but i wouldnt take a chance.
Old May 4, 2004, 12:43 PM
Evolving Member

I thought that was the case, but wanted to double check. Thx for the quick response

Any particular type of silicone sealer I should look for? I have some that says its oil/antifreeze proof, but doesn't mention gasoline. I even looked around @ Advanced for some sealer that specifically said gasoline proof, but couldn't find any.
Old May 4, 2004, 06:17 PM

As a mechanical seal engineer that works with nasty chemicals, I would think the teflon tape is better suited for gas than silicone. I don't think silicone o-rings are good is gas, never mind a silicone adhesive.
Old May 4, 2004, 09:39 PM
Evolving Member