Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

4-Stroke Basics

Search this Thread

Old Aug 7, 2007, 10:56 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
4-Stroke Basics

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to understanding internal combustion engines. From my basic understanding of the 4-stroke process, here is what I've written out in terms of what is happening with the cams / valves in crankshaft degrees of rotation:

0 degree = tdc - intake stroke starting
(intake and exhaust valves both open here, intake opening, exhaust closing)

180 degree = bdc - compression stroke starting
(intake valves finished closing)

360 degree = tdc - power stroke starting
(all valves closed, spark fires btdc)

540 degree = bdc - exhaust stroke starting
(exhaust valves opening)

One of the reasons this came into my head was in terms of understanding how you would specifiy where camshafts should be oriented in crankshaft degrees. How exactly is this done? How is this specified usually for the stock cams, and then for aftermarket camshafts as well?

Another thing that I sort of realized in talking this through in my head, is the cams must be geared so that they spin precisely 180 degrees for every 360 degrees of rotation of the crank. Is that right? This allows the camshaft lobes to define unique valve action for 720 degrees of crankshaft motion. Am I understanding this all correctly?
Old Aug 7, 2007, 01:03 PM
Evolved Member

Received 33 Likes on 28 Posts
Well, a couple different resources:

If you can find them online, Mike Kojima's series called, "Suck, Squish, Bang, Blow" that was published in Sport Compact Car. Also his series, "Revenge of the Nerds" that was on www.nissanperformancemag.com.

Otherwise, go visit the library, preferablely the engineering library on a college campus, and look up the many books on engines and combustion
Old Aug 7, 2007, 03:55 PM
Evolved Member